Albion Bacon Fellows recipient named, tickets for luncheon still available

Aug. 4, 2017

Women’s Equality Day Luncheon approaching quickly, tickets still available

The 15th annual Women’s Equality Day Luncheon is three weeks away. EDIT: Tickets are sold out! Thank you everyone for your support! 

This year’s keynote speaker is Negin Farsad. She’s been featured on NPR’s Wait, Wait … Don’t Tell Me weekend segment in the past few months. Named one of the 50 Funniest Women by Huffington Post and one of the 10 Best Feminist Comedians by Paste Magazine, Farsad also presented at the 2015 TEDWomen conference and was selected as a TEDFellow for her work in social justice comedy. In her feature film, The Muslims Are Coming!, Farsad leads a group of Muslim-American comedians on a comedy tour through Middle America using humor to open minds and counter Islamophobia.


2017 Albion Bacon Fellows Recipient

Patty Avery

Every year, the Women’s Equality Day committee awards an individual who has shown “exemplary dedication through his or her active engagement in reform efforts or influence of public policies that improve the quality of life for our citizens.”

Patty Avery is a tireless advocate for social change; someone who is not afraid to take on big problems, inspire collaboration and create solutions. Her history of community involvement is long including creating programs to empower young girls, financially empower women and minorities, end homelessness, equip women to be a part of the political process and advocate for cancer-related issues.

Patty has been a missionary in Brazil, Old National Bank’s Community Outreach Officer and most recently financial empowerment program specialist for the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau in Washington, D.C. She’s founded the Vanderburgh County Democratic Women’s Caucus and, 15 years ago, was co-founder of the Women’s Equality Day event that continues today.

Patty is not afraid to fight the fight, and she stands up for injustice in all aspects of her life.

Past Albion Bacon Fellow honorees include Sister Jan Michele McClure, Marvaline Prince, Luzada Hayes, Barbara Williams, Roberta Heiman and Estella Moss.



Learn more about Women’s Equality Day on Facebook at @WomensEqualityEvansville and at